Question Backtrack vs Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by ecrudragon, 7 May 2013.

1. ecrudragon

ecrudragon Legendary ^_^
    VIP

Hi Guys...

I am using Windows 8 + Ubuntu 13.04 and i have many things already installed on Ubuntu 13.04.
    I just want to know what's the difference between Backtrack & Ubuntu, as backtrack have many many tutorials on websites to do everything than Ubuntu.
    1) i want to install Backtrack as my operating system is it good? (but i am waiting for customized Ubuntu 13.04 by our respected admin Mr. Penguin )
    2) which version of backtrack is good as operating system?
    3) backtrack support .Deb packages?
    4) backtrack's command line is same as Ubuntu?

Please Advice...
    Thank You,,, :D
    --- Double Post Merged, 7 May 2013 ---
    As everyone is too busy i would like to answer my question my own self :D :p

Code:
    Select All
    I'm new to Linux is Backtrack a good place to start Sorry, the simple answer to that is no. BackTrack is a highly specialized distro, where a lot of normal tasks are not done automatically for you as they are in a mainstream distro. Our best advice if you wish to start off using linux with BackTrack as your first linux operating system, is don't. Start off by downloading a copy of Kubuntu (as it is a similar base operating system to BackTrack) boot into that and force yourself to do everything you are used to doing on a daily basis using that, preferably spending most of your time using the command line tools. When and only when you can perform all of those daily tasks without having to look-up the commands should you move to BackTrack. Please don't take this as us saying you shouldn't use BackTrack, take it as friendly advice that you are letting yourself in for a whole world of pain and frustration if you are not fully comfortable performing administration of your own linux machine before you start with Backtrack. http://www.backtrack-linux.org/wiki/index.php/FAQ