Question Installing VMWARE on Windows XP

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by rempit, 21 Nov 2012.

  1. rempit

    rempit Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Hi all,

    I recently helping a friend doing what we are doing.
    His laptop computer is old enough, some 5 years+ old with 2GB RAM and running Windows XP.

    First step, I installed the Signalking 999WN and its driver, install OK.
    Second step, I double click on the VMWare Player 4 installation file, a pop-up window "VMWare Player 4...unable to install in this computer... ", I tried many times but still not working.

    What's the solution? I need help here.
    Thanks.
     
  2. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    91
  3. rempit

    rempit Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Wow your reply is fast enough, thanks a lot, I am downloading right now, test again the installation. :joy
     
  4. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i have same problem with vmware also no detected adapter why ?
     
  5. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    guy i want ask... why when i install vmware after play linux on vmware my wireless adapter not detected?
    in setting my network is NAT??
     
  6. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Did you connect your wireless adapter to vmware manually?
     
  7. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    firsts i try use automatic n also say no adapter then i use manualy also have same problem
     
  8. rempit

    rempit Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I just installed both VMWare 4 and VMWare 7 on another PC ( Windows XP, 1GB RAM) and it works.
    So, I guess the problem is not VMWare 4 or 7, it is probably caused by wrong settings of the old laptop, looks like I will have to spend time fixing it...
     
  9. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
  10. rempit

    rempit Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I installed the same setup in 5 PCs that run Win XP, unfortunately only 1 working. ...Headache me :(
     
  11. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Auch what the pain 5 pc u install then only one working...
    huuhhuu... that make our head start running again n think what should we do :idea
     
  12. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    351
    It is telling you there is something wrong but not going into detail with exactly what. Have you gone over these?

    Installation Requirements
    When you install Workstation, the installer performs checks to make sure the host system has a processor that meets the following requirements. You cannot install Workstation if the host system does not meet these requirements.
    • 64-bit x86 CPU
    • LAHF/SAHF support in long mode
    You can use CPU-Z or a similar utility to determine if the host system CPU is 64-bit capable. CPU-Z shows EM64T (Intel) or AMD64 (AMD) if the processor is 64-bit capable.
    If you plan to install a 64-bit guest operating system in a virtual machine, the host system must have one of the following processors. Workstation will not allow you to install a 64-bit guest operating system if the host system does not have one of these processors.
    • AMD CPU that has segment-limit support in long mode.
    • Intel CPU that has VT-x support. VT-x support must be enabled in the host system BIOS. The BIOS settings that must be enabled for VT-x support vary depending on the system vendor. See VMware KB article 1003944 for information on how to determine if VT-x support is enabled.
     
  13. One Piece

    One Piece Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    that mean it ur processor 64 bit cannot just install directly must have enabled the host bios?
     
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K