Kasens g9000+grid 24db

Discussion in 'Wireless Networking Cards' started by rollex78, 10 Apr 2013.

  1. rollex78

    rollex78 Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
  2. Remington

    Remington Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    58
    You need a Booster every 16 feet (5 meters) of cable so ya 12m is too long. Also that ebay Booster is too long, you need 16FT cable repeaters.
     
  3. rollex78

    rollex78 Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
  4. Remington

    Remington Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Yes that is what you need.
     
  5. rollex78

    rollex78 Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    thank u very much Remington:)

    well my situation....2.5 years i use grid 24db parabolic+edimax EW-7228Pn....1.5km wifi point away from my home.
    unfortunately .... May 2013 wifi association will cease to exist....I live in a small village ... 4.5km from the town where my nearest point of access
    So...i must buy new equipment
    grid 24db is good.
    is any member have expirience with this:
    http://www.alfanetwork.co.uk/network/booster/apag05-2.html
    it expensive....
    product decription -High Gain and Low Noise.....
     
  6. sovietw0rm

    sovietw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    73
    usb cable doesn't make signal lose
     
  7. Remington

    Remington Well-Known Member
    VIP

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ^No but you will loose voltage. USB 1.1/2.0 specifies a maximum cable length of 5 meters (~16 feet) as a function of a minimum required transmission speeds. But if you buy that APAG05-2 then you will be dealing with coax cable and not USB.
     
  8. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    351
    Remington is right. I used a 10m USB cable and there wasn't enough power going to and from the device, it simply did not work.
     
  9. rollex78

    rollex78 Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thank u Remington & Mr.P....got it 2x 5m usb cabel.:) ...works very fine....
     
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K