Question Repackaging a BackTrack ISO

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by estimacamry, 19 Mar 2013.

  1. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    91
    I've made plenty of changes to my Back Track 5 liveUSB with persistent. Question....how can I remaster the modified ISO? Would like to save it for future usage so I don't have to reinstall all packages that I need for BT5. A link to working/good tutorial would be appreciated.:D
     
  2. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    351
    Have you looked into remastersys?

    Watch this video on YouTube.
    I wouldn't follow this tutorial to a tee, make sure you check out the remastersys website for more info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    • Like Like x 1
  4. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Can't get it done with this...4GB limit...an iso9660 spec that is present in the cdrtools forked genisoimage that is present in debian and ubuntu. There is also another issue limiting things to 4GB - if you put it on a usb flash drive, they are usually formatted fat32(vfat) which has a file size limit of 4GB as well:D
     
  5. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    351
    Perhaps you can delete some of the BackTrack packages.... Or you can create a virtual machine from a physical one: http://www.vmware.com/products/converter/overview.html

    This thread any help? http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=107246

    I have plenty of NTFS formatted and Mac OS X Journal Extended USB drives laying around :D
     
  6. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
  7. HoT_Pursuit

    HoT_Pursuit Well-Known Member
    Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    190
    could you please give us more information about how to modified BT5 R3 ISO, because i want to work "my own copy" even if the volume is large such as 5 or 7 GB.
     
  8. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    91
    I've not succeeded yet, the total built its about 10.4GB. Getting error at the end of the process with remastersys:(
     
  9. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Probably to big for .iso
    What compression does remastersys use ?? squashes lzma ?? it might fit if you use lzma but would take more time to compress.
     
  10. HoT_Pursuit

    HoT_Pursuit Well-Known Member
    Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    190
    I don't care about large volume size , even bigger than 10GB , just i need full updated iso with tools. Because i need to convert (ReaverPro HoT_PursuiT Edition V2) to iso
     
  11. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    351
    • Like Like x 1
  12. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    As i said what compression does remastersys use , I've never used it and can't be arsed finding out??? if it just uses squashfs it won't work it should work with lzma. If it doesn't have the option for lzma try relinux http://mijyn.github.com/relinux/
     
  13. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    351
    Been scoping the Remastersys / AV Linux and found the following info:

    Source: Limitations of Remastering


    But this sounds promising... Although it is for Debian

    Source: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
    Perhaps you should start with Kali estimacamry / HoT_Pursuit and Remastersys 3 as it is Debian based?
     
  14. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    That was 4 years ago, since kernel 2.6.29 lzma2 has been built into the kernel, best thing to do would be check the backtrack to see what they use. I have only a modified backtrack 3 but I'm pretty sure it's built with lzma.

    Seem's 4 onwards is built with squashfs http://www.offensive-security.com/backtrack/customising-the-backtrack-4-prefinal-iso/ i only stuck with 3 because i like slackware and hate ubuntu.
     
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K