Fixed Stuck At Command Prompt Tc@box When Created Live Usb

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by heryhasyimee, 15 Jun 2012.

  1. heryhasyimee

    heryhasyimee Active Member

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    What is the Issue?:
    After boot, tc@box appear and it stuck there. what should i do now
    Ultimately, What are you trying to achieve?:
    Hack WPA with a Dictionary attack with FeedingBottle
    What is your wireless device model?:
    RT8187L
    USB or Internal Device?:
    USB
    How are you using it?:
    I am using Xiaopan as a LiveUSB
    Operating System:
    Windows
    If you used a Live CD or USB How did you create it?:
    Unetbootin
    What version:
    Xiaopan 0.4.2.3

     
  2. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Trophy Points:
    351
  3. Cuic

    Cuic Member

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi im stuck in da same problem but im using cd
     
  4. qq573

    qq573 New Member

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem with 0.4.7.2 as well as with all the older versions.
    I tried lilu, yumi, RMPrepUSB_Portable, Unetbootin and another half dozen programs, with the same result: it goes and stays in command line tc@box. It looks like it does not load any of the programs from cde/optional, but it is too fast to see exactly. I tried to stop the scrolling, and it seems it can't make a directory /xiaopan/cde/optional when booting (when prepared with RMPrepUSB tutotial 99). Also seems to write something about a Tainted kernel .
    The burned cd works OK, but the bootable CF card does not. My old laptop can't boot from USB, only from PCMCIA/CF card.
    Anyone can help? I am working on it for 2 weeks now, and got no results. Using 1.25GB RAM and 1.1GHZ Intel M processor in a Toshiba R100.
    Wifislax is booting ok from the same CF card in the same laptop.
    PLEASE HELP!!!
     
    #4 qq573, 1 Feb 2014
    Last edited: 1 Feb 2014
  5. menja

    menja New Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. Pazzo

    Pazzo Member

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem as qq573. Also tried dd and Multisystem(includes plop). When I first used unetbootin, it worked. But later, using the exact same procedure, I land at the TC@Box screen, stuck.

    May it be a problem of read-only mounted FS?
     
  7. john_smith_gtp

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I
    I got the same problem when loading through VirtualBox in Windows 7; when I boot into the usb everything is ok...
     
  8. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Are you booting from .iso or usb in virtualbox ?? how much memory you giving your video card in virtualbox?
     
  9. john_smith_gtp

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Either iso or usb, the result is the same. I changed the display memory to 128MB and the system memory to 1GB , but I'm still stuck to the prompt.
     
  10. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Are you running VirtualBox as root or as Admin ? Try running as admin.
     
  11. john_smith_gtp

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm running as admin from windows 7....
     
  12. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    As you can boot using usb i'd say there's nothing wrong with the iso more likely to be your virtualbox install, check your log file's for error's
    I'm not a window's user i'd guess it would be C:\\Documents and Settings\\Username\\.VirtualBox\\Machines\\<vm name>\\Logs\\vbox.log
    The only time i get the tc@box is by not running as root.
     
  13. huali

    huali Active Member

    Joined:
    6 May 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I'm having the same problem with a cd install. I just want to boot the os. That simple. Is there a command that needs to be entered at this point?
    --- Double Post Merged, 31 Aug 2014 ---
    I'd like to dual boot it with win7 on a hp notebook
    --- Double Post Merged, 31 Aug 2014 ---
    What if you're not running it in virtualbox but just trying to boot live?
     
  14. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    161
    no command needed your disk is corrupt or your iso is, use a usb drive it's much better.
     
  15. Faheemafridi

    Faheemafridi Member

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have tried every possibel method for xiaopan 0.4.7.2 including lili live usb tutorial and unetbootin but still stuck at boot screen. And this occur only when booting from live usb. I try it on virtual box and runs fine. Buy in virtual box i am unable to get conect my tplink wireless card usb. Please help
     
  16. Manihera Whaanga

    Manihera Whaanga KakKa BUM
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    83
    could try VMware player
     
  17. jimpipe

    jimpipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    60
    LiLi confirm still working, I just tested.
    You need to format the usb thumbdrive to fat32 first, and if you ever use that usb thumbdrive to install windows or whatever, you may need to
    clean it partition table.
    Try win32Diskimager, it works too.
     
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K