The way to optimize signal strength & range of Alfa 7dbi & 9dbi antenna?

Discussion in 'Antennas' started by Shah Legno, 10 May 2013.

  1. Shah Legno

    Shah Legno Member

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Heloo...

    I just got my Alfa card AWUS036H, but the problem is i still can't optimize to maximum the use of 7dbi & 9dbi antenna that i buy with the card? i don't see yet any too many difference with the use of that 2 antenna...

    Please help...
     
  2. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Directional antenna?
     
  3. Shah Legno

    Shah Legno Member

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    13
    7dbi directional & 9dbi dipole antenna...u got any other way to optimize the maximum performance of this 2 antenna?
     
  4. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Have try increasing the txpower of your card?
    Code:
    Select All
    ifconfig wlan0 down iw reg set BO iwconfig wlan0 txpower 30dbm ifconfig wlan0 up
    Another thing is the best possible position of your antenna. You can extent your antenna using usb Active Repeater Cables.
     
  5. Shah Legno

    Shah Legno Member

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Where's to input that command in Xiaopan? in terminal? i have the magnetic base to hold the 9dbi dipole antenna, what is Active Repeater Cables?
     
  6. estimacamry

    estimacamry Tracker
    VIP

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    91
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. vampiricbunny1800

    vampiricbunny1800 Well-Known Member
    Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    63
    you might wanna just keep the thing that needs usb a little more near the pc MIGHT help... why would u need such a long usb (( I'm just asking)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Shah Legno

    Shah Legno Member

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    13
    A long USB...just to reposition the antenna to a more better place for a more better signal?
     
  9. vampiricbunny1800

    vampiricbunny1800 Well-Known Member
    Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    63
    you can get a antenna that works with a cat cable thats a little cheaper i think
     
  10. Shah Legno

    Shah Legno Member

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Thanks for the suggestion :)
     
  11. faizuldin

    faizuldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    80
    are you using t sma connector?
     
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K