Info Avoiding Lockouts with Reaver

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by Crafted, 18 Jan 2013.

  1. Crafted

    Crafted Member

    Joined:
    1 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone
    Okay so I was thinking about how much longer it can take to crack a network whilst you're reviving lockouts every 10 pins. Please bare with me I'm quite new to this world! so what I was thinking was that if someone was to make a script that spoofs your mac address after 10 or however many pins have been attempted you could just keep going? I'm not quite sure how lockouts work. I am unsure if they lock out everything or just a certain mac, I figured if this is possible someone would have come across it by now, but hey it doesn't hurt to share!!

    -Crafted
     
  2. meknb

    meknb Mod
    Moderator Dev Team VIP

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    145
    I've found lockouts are nothing to do with mac address you will find even with lockouts you are still associated with the AP.
    I only use macchanger when i can't associate with AP ,you only spoof your wlanX not mon0.
    Some routers have different time out before lockout,might be caused by to many wrong pins in a given time.
    Try different times between pin attempts the i.e. -d 4 will wait 4 seconds between pins or -r 10:40 will test 10 pins and sleep for 40 seconds.
    Type reaver into a terminal to find out what different command lines do.
     
  3. ImJoJo

    ImJoJo The One & Only
    VIP

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    107
    that is a misconception..when you change the MAC on a specific interface it only changes on that specific one. You can have one MAC address on wlanX and a different on mon0..as for the lockouts I agree, each router is set up differently. Some will lock you out at a specific number of tries, doesn't matter if its 3 tries in one minute or 3 tries in one day. Just in case of a permanent lockout you can use a tool called Mdk3 (included in
    Xiaopan OS SliTaz Version v2) ...use an authentication attack (its actually a stress TEST) but its more of an attack..anyways use the command to use is
    Code:
    Select All
    mdk3 mon0 a
    let it run for about an hour (overnight for excellent results):D and you will notice most AP's are no longer in the channel they operated in and if you have the key to any of them most likely the loggin to the router configuration is in default..Reason: Mdk3 resetted the AP...cool huh..and the once locked AP is no longer locked.;)
    Note: the command I mentioned above will test all AP's around you. You can try testing only specific ones or a specific one as well. Type the following for detailed help
    Code:
    Select All
    mdk3 --fullhelp
     
  4. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,199
    Lockouts occur as a security feature, which is dependent on the make and model of the AP you are attacking (some have it, some don't). It is important not to through as many pins as Reaver is capable of. You need to slow the attack down with the advanced settings :)

    Thread moved to support ;)
     
  5. my house

    my house Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2014
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does mdk3 include in xiaopan 0.4.7.2?
     
  6. Musket33

    Musket33 New Member

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Musket Teams wish to note that in a small subset of routers a WPS locked state is actually not locked. There is a special case script written for kali-linux which can test the router and harvest pins if the flaw exists. Go to WpS Reaver issue 675. 676, 677. Download the latest VMR-MDKx2 download. There is also a link posted in aircrack-ng forums. Read thru the help files and the help notes in the configuration file which runs this script..


    MTeams
     
  7. Furqan Hanif

    Furqan Hanif Active Member

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to Do Pixie Dust Attack ??? Any One Knows About It ?? is their any tool using which we can do this Attack ??
     
  8. Musket33

    Musket33 New Member

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,199
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K