Info Can I Update Backtrack 5 When Using VMware?

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by faizuldin, 14 Jul 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. faizuldin

    faizuldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    i just install a spare OS in my laptop,now i know how to crack wpa/wpa2 using inflator.can i just update it?
     
  2. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Dear faizuldin, welcome to Xiaopan forums.

    The welcome thread is not the support thread. Please, when you post, post in the appropriate sections.

    Sure you can you can download and install Synaptic Package Manager to update most packages as well as installing new ones:

    Install Synaptic Package Manager (watch here)
    • Open Terminal
    • Type:
    Code:
    Select All
    apt-get install synaptic
    • After installation go to System -> Administration -> Synaptic Package Manager

    Also try the following commands in Terminal:
    Code:
    Select All
    apt-get update
    Code:
    Select All
    apt-get dist-upgrade
     
  3. Pascal

    Pascal Wifi Sniffer
    Staff Member Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    89
    Code:
    Select All
    apt-get update apt-get upgrade apt-get dist-upgrade apt-get auto-remove
     
  4. faizuldin

    faizuldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i understand
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Shaqe

    Shaqe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    21
    answering your question is: YES

    All you need is that your Virtual Machine's Network is configured to reach the NET.

    PLUS, use commands given above.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. faizuldin

    faizuldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    one more question,can i configure my build-in laptop into vmware workstation?
     
  7. Pascal

    Pascal Wifi Sniffer
    Staff Member Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    89
    explain what do you want ??
     
  8. faizuldin

    faizuldin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    vmware not detect a built-in laptop wifi
     
  9. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,193
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K