Fixed ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Device or resource busy ARP linktype is set to 1

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by chineserice, 9 Oct 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chineserice

    chineserice Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Everyone ... :) IMG_20121008_215230.jpg
    I'm kind of new to this VMware thingy...
    I got : BT5R3-GNOME-64 ISO
    VMware 9
    Alfa Card RTL 8187L

    Instilled VMware & Running BT5 looks Great !
    Issue Now : The BT5 able to find the RTL8187L Card, I was able to use WASH to check WPS = good
    Able to monitor mode the RTL 8187L
    But When I write Airodump-ng wlan0 = is NOT working ..?
    It shows this:
    IMG_20121008_215230.jpg IMG_20121008_215230.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I get this error quite frequently.

    Code:
    Select All
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Device or resource busy ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) – expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211, ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make sure RFMON is enabled: run ‘airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>’ Sysfs injection support was not found either.
    You need to be in monitor mode:

    Did you run?
    Code:
    Select All
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down sudo iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor sudo ifconfig wlan0 up sudo iwconfig wlan0
    Code:
    Select All
    sudo airmon-ng start wlan0 sudo airodump-ng wlan0
    If you are still having issues please follow this tutorial: How to Fix ioctlsiocsiwmode Failed Device or Resource Busy Problem

    In future can you please copy and paste the error message in the forum. Thanks.
     
  3. chineserice

    chineserice Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you boss .. !! It nicely !!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    It worked?
     
  5. chineserice

    chineserice Active Member

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes It works Excellent !! Thanks Boss !!
     
  6. Mr.Ansas

    Mr.Ansas Member

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still same issue am facing.. any one can help me..!!Please...
     
  7. Mr. Penguin

    Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member Admin Moderator VIP

    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    This has been solved. Did you try the solution listed above? What is different in your case, details!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Loading...
  • About Us

    We are a community mixed with professionals and beginners with an interest in wireless security, auditing and pentesting. Feel free to check out and upload resources.


    You can also find us on: Twitter and Facebook

  • Donate to Us

    Did you find our forums useful? Feel free to donate Bitcoin to us using the form below. Those who donate the equivlent of $10 USD or more will be upgraded to VIP membership. Don't have Bitcoin? Use your credit card to GO VIP here. Don't want to fork out some coin? There are other ways to GO VIP. Bitcoin: 1LMTGSoTyJWXuy2mQkHfgMzD7ez74x1Z8K