Issue RT2870 Fails to Scan for APs in Xiaopan 0.4.2.2 (Live USB)

Discussion in 'Xiaopan Support' started by J Greers, 28 Jun 2012.

1. J Greers

J Greers Member

What is the Issue?

Apologies if this has been asked already. I am a budding network penetration bod and wish to look at both this field and that of linux development in the near future. However for the moment I am a bit of a noob (understating my situation). Is it possible to include a driver for a RT2870 chipset in the next release that works with Reaver? At the moment the stock driver seems to work fine for most applications in Xiaopan it just fails when I try to scan for APs in inflator (unless -c is specified to ignore errors) and if a session is begun (either in inflator after using the ignore error switch or through minidwep) it seems to have all manner of issues when negotiating with networks during the process. I have read that compat drivers has solved the issue for some but I am such a n00b I have no clue how to activate these drivers in any stock version of Xiaopan! Hope that Ive managed to explain myself even with my limited vocabulary on this subject.

All the best, James

Ultimately, What are you trying to achieve?:
    Hack WPS with Reaver and Inflator

What is your wireless device model?:
    RT2870

USB or Internal Device?:
    USB

How are you using it?:
    I am using Xiaopan as a LiveUSB

Operating System:
    Windows

If you used a Live CD or USB How did you create it?:
    Universal Linux USB Creator

What version:
    Xiaopan 0.4.2.2

2. Mr. Penguin

Mr. Penguin Administrator
    Staff Member VIP Admin

Unfortunately we have not got much feedback on this card as of late. It is my understanding that the compat-wireless drivers for Ralink's 2XXX and 3XXX have some conflicts with Atheros based cards.

Questions
    Can you find out if your device is fully supported by Reaver?
    What other versions have you tried and have you had issues with those as well?
    Is injection working?